Unidentified Found Objects

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DigitalM

Established Member
Reaction score
Somewhat misleading title, but here are some things found amongst auction multi-lots.

UFO 1: I literally have no idea. It might be fun to guess, or maybe someone knows. Either way it's broken but I'm still curious as to what it was.

UFO_01_01.jpg

UFO_01_02.jpg

UFO_01_03.jpg

UFO 2: Obviously a pointy tool. I'm a noob I know, but I'm wondering if this is for a specific trade rather than general pointy pokey thing.

UFO_02_01.jpg

UFO 3: Looks like a needle on a handle. Something for saddlery perhaps?

UFO_03_01.jpg

UFO 4: Probably an easy one. This thing looks a bit like a small woodworking lathe parting tool. Maybe that's exactly what it is. It's stamped "H. Taylor Made in England" and has an acorn logo. I see they do turning tools, but on their parting tool page there's nothing modern that matches this sort of profile.

UFO_04_01.jpg

UFO_04_02.jpg

Attachments

• UFO_01_01.jpg
    UFO_01_01.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 1,070
  • UFO_01_02.jpg
    UFO_01_02.jpg
    111.5 KB · Views: 1,070
  • UFO_01_03.jpg
    UFO_01_03.jpg
    112.8 KB · Views: 1,070
  • UFO_02_01.jpg
    UFO_02_01.jpg
    31.2 KB · Views: 1,070
  • UFO_03_01.jpg
    UFO_03_01.jpg
    29.9 KB · Views: 1,070
  • UFO_04_01.jpg
    UFO_04_01.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 1,070
  • UFO_04_02.jpg
    UFO_04_02.jpg
    39.1 KB · Views: 1,070
(3) is clearly intended to pull something pretty hard - note the cross pin in the handle, holding the shaft. But most pulling type tools are either hooks, or latch-hooks, for ease of use.

I'm sure I've seen this before, but I can't remember where.

BugBear