Turning Chisel advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rob12770

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am very new to woodturning, :roll: i have bought a SIP 01360 36 lathe and i initially bought some cheap clark chisels to get me started, i have now bought a set of Faithfull WCTSET8B HSS woodturning chisels, but they are much thicker than the clark, which is good, but i find that i cannot use them very effectivley on turning beads etc as the are too thick to get right in and down, I have not sharpened them yet as I am going to get a grinder and stone very soon,
I read somewhere that you should grind a gouge to the shape of a lady's fingernail, is this right and would it solve my problem ?

hopefully my question made some sense many thanks Rob :)

chrisbaker42":37h0dnqy said:
Although it is not the easiest to use, the skew will get into most of those awkward little places
yes thanks , but i find that skew sometimes wants to move up or down the workpiece by its self, im not sure why its doing that... :roll: maybe it is not sharp enough ?
also, with respect, it dosent answer my question, i dont want my new expensive gouges to be limited in use.

Hi Rob

You probably don't want to hear this but the Faithfull set does not seem to be an ideal starter set.

According to the spec I've seen it has no spindle or bowl gouge and has 3 roughing gouges, although looking at the picture what they call the 8mm roughing gouge looks more like a spindle gouge to me.

The diamond point "scraper" and parting tool can be used to roll beads, as can the skew but the latter can bite until you have had plenty of practice with it. What you describe as the skew moving up and down on its own is typical of it not being used properly and you catch a point which ends up in a nice spiral over your wood!