What wood would I want?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smartin

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to turning still, having only turned small parts I've needed in the past, usually in a cheap softwood. I now find myself taking more interest in the actual craft of turning.

I have a good friend who owns a wood processing business, they provide free disposal/recycling of felled trees and process vast quantities of all species. He's offered to give me whatever type of wood I'd like but I didn't really know what to ask for. Is there any particular type of wood I should ask him for that would be a good experience for turning, or perhaps something not so easy to turn but produces something a bit special?

I'd love your feedback on this as I've struggled to get much in the way of useful information on the net. Lot's of mixed views. I understand that I'd need to season anything I get from him but I have the space and the time to do so and figured I'd be best building up a stockpile as early as possible.

Thanks for any advice.

Talk about a gift horse!!

Top of the list:
Walnut
Yew
Laburnum
Brown Oak
Anything spalted but not too far gone

Also on list:
Oak
Ash
Beech
Sycamore
Elm
Birch
All fruit woods
Thorn
Hazel
Holly
Hornbeam
Robinia
Maple

Good for practice, birch, Ash, pines once the sap isn't so sticky

Any fruitwood - apple, pear, plum, cherry. They all turn well and look good finished. Really though, you can't lose with any hardwood especially if it's free. At the worst it's good practice.

I'd particularly ask for any burrs.
The fruit woods may not be the best choice to ask for. They are VERY prone to fast splitting when freshly cut, so unless you can get to them within 24hrs to end seal the grain, you might just be given a lot of split scrap.