Working out wood length

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GarethEllis

Reaction score
Any help would be appriciated. I am new to the wood working scene although i have completed a few projects in the past I have never done one like what i am wanting to undertake. I have bought a set of plans for a toolbox I would like to build but I am struggling to workout the cutting list. (Ill copy and paste below) could anyone explain to me how they worked out the board feet to be what they are please.

Qty Description Thickness Width Length
1 Bottom 3/4 in. 12-1/2 in. 23-1/8 in.
2 Side 3/4 in. 12-1/2 in. 12-1/4 in.
1 Upper panel front 3/4 in. 5-1/2 in. 23-1/8 in.
1 Upper panel rear 3/4 in. 5-3/8 in. 23-1/8 in.
1 Back 3/4 in. 6 in. 22 in.
1 Drawer divider 5/8 in. 11-5/8 in. 22 in.
1 Fixed shelf 5/8 in. 12-1/2 in. 23-1/8 in.
2 Lid stile 3/4 in. 1-3/4 in. 23-1/4 in.
2 Lid rail 3/4 in. 2-5/8 in. 12-5/8 in.
1 Center stile 3/4 in. 1-3/4 in. 9-3/4 in.
2 Panel 1/2 in. 9-3/4 in. 8-3/4 in.
1 Bottom drawer front 3/4 in. 2-3/4 in. 21-1/2 in.
1 Bottom drawer back 1/2 in. 2-1/4 in. 21-1/2 in.
2 Bottom drawer side 1/2 in. 2-3/4 in. 11-5/16 in.
1 Top drawer front 3/4 in. 2-1/4 in. 21-1/2 in.
1 Top drawer back 1/2 in. 1-3/4 in. 21-1/2 in.
2 Top drawer side 1/2 in. 2-1/4 in. 11-5/16 in.
2 Drawer bottom 3/8 in. 11-1/16 in. 21 in.
Drawer divider stock 1/4 in.
Total board feet 19*

"board feet: is an American measure. It's quite handy however. A board foot is one square foot of material one inch thick
What they've probably done is assume all thicknesses are from 1" sawn timber and then simply added the area of 1" material needed and arrived at 19 square feet total. So if you are buying 6"x1" material you will need 19 x 2 linear feet = 38ft length at 6"x1"