adapting old chisels

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

madmurph

Reaction score
I am new to lathe work, I have a number of old carpenters chisels, are they suitable for reshaping for scraping etc, I also saw many years ago about grinding the ends of files for the same thing, any suggestions, anything to save a few bob whilst I buy the gauges etc
Madmurph

I'm sorry Nev I disagree in part, I have always used old chisels with new handles. The quality of the steel in old chisels is far superior to some of the rubbish turning tools out there. So am looking forward to hear from the dissenters as to why it is considered a dangerous practice. Files on the other hand would need full heat treatment to be suitable as they are hardened but not tempered and as brittle as hell.

I've reshaped (and re-handled) old chisels into bead-forming tools for the lathe. I didn't realise it was dangerous.

Mr Madmurph above is as stated new to turning and will therefore probably get a catch or two along the learning curve, I know I did.
Files, as said, are brittle and likely to break with an impact.
Chisels may or may not be suitable for a regrind depending on the type and the future use. Too short a tang and too much leverage are not a good combination. Yes, you could, as Naz has done shape a beading tool, a generally delicate manoeuvre and unlikely to bite back, and maybe a few other styles of gouge but 20 or 30 quid is cheaper than a new finger or eyeball etc.
Far safer I think to err on the side of caution and advise new turners no and no. :)