different wood lathes

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rob1992jolly

Reaction score
Hi there. I am a tree surgeon looking to get into wood turning for obvious reasons haha. I have been doing some research and found there are a lot of different lathes out there. Some around £160 and others into the £1000s. That just seems like big price gap. As I am just a beginner and don't know Wether it will stick I don't want to spend that amount of cash. Any help or advice?

Many thanks Rob jolly

Wow, what an open question. To help I'd make the following recommendations:

1) If you're not sure if this is for you, buy a used machine. Lathes (well looked after) tend to lose value from new to second hand and then further depreciation is very slow so if you buy a used good condition machine and look after it the trial won't cost you too much even if you decide it is not for you in the end.

2) It's not just the lathe. I don't know what other kit you have but you will also need a grinder to keep your tools sharp (basic 6" machine with a white Al Oxide wheel is the minimum really, ideally a 40mm wide wheel but not essential). Also you need a set of tools. Prob 5 or 6 to get you going - roughing gouge, 19mm skew, 3/8 bowl gouge, spindle gouge, parting tool and round nose scraper would make a good start. Can be bought used on eBay by package deals from the likes of Axminster almost same price.