Buying wood for delivery

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foxtrotfall

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a beginner woodworker in Leeds and I'm struggling with sourcing wood for my projects. I don't have a car, so I can't get to timber yards, and I can't find suppliers that will 1) deliver, and 2) deliver affordably. Most places I saw that did do delivery only did so for companies (eg. "Spend £950 to qualify for delivery") or with shipping costs upwards of £50.
I live near a Homebase, and I saw they sell some wood, but it's expensive and they won't deliver it either - not sure if I can grab a taxi with a bunch of wood boards with me!

I got tools, I got some terrible deck wood because it was the only thing I could find online and I am now powering through my first project with this. But surely there must be a better way to source the materials? Do I really have to have a car to get into woodworking?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Nicholas

Delivery is always going to be expensive just because of the weight and volume of wood however there are plenty of places that should be reasonable (SL Hardwoods for example). Perhaps you need to look at hardwood suppliers outside your area?

Others options might be hire a van for a few hours, ask a friend, even get a man & van for an hour or two.

i found that a man and van was often the cheapest option- I got a shed from homebase that way. but you may also find that it only costs a couple of quid more to pay the timber place to deliver, particularly if they are local. It depends greatly on what you want to make though- if you want to make small boxes and bookends, a courier will be fine. if you need long and/or heavy boards the options are fewer.