Fire! Phew, that could have been nasty....

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AJB Temple

Finely figured
Reaction score
There was recently a thread about workshop fires. By some twist of fate I had a fire last weekend. I happened to be working in our yard at home, where we have bins, building materials etc, and saw flames coming from the general rubbish wheelie bin.

The previous day I had been making a spindle to replace a chair leg brace. I am not a lathe expert and have only had mine a couple of weeks from a member here. I was smoothing the work with wire wool (probably not what I should be doing but I have had no lathe training since I was 14, which is x decades ago). I had also been grinding some edges on my wife's abused garden tools and cleaning them up with oily rags.

My practice for years has been to clean out my workshop (amateur) at the end of the day when it is used, and not keep rubbish in there. Hence the wire wool etc were in the wheelie bin. I don't really know what caused the fire but I am guessing that warm wire wool, some kitchen cloths fairly well impregnated with WD40 were just warm enough to ignite several hours later. The wheelie bin melted a 6" wide hole by the time I realised. If this had happened in my workshop it would be an ex-workshop by now. Salutary lesson!

The wire wool rags soaked in oil etc. do not need to be hot.

The reaction process as oil on wirewool or rags oxidises can (always assume will) result in enough heat to combust.

Wire wool and batteries is also a sure way to start a fire. Glad you and the workshop are ok.

Its lucky when you get a good shock and learn something without any permament damage being done.