110v Table saw with transformer

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

martinle

Reaction score
Hi,

I've bought a table saw that turned out to be 110v and wondering what my options were. It was from a friend of a friend who's husband had died, it's still boxed and unused so I'd rather resell it than ask to return it, I think she has enough to worry about at the minute.

Before I bite the bullet and sell it I was wondering if I'd be able to run it off the mains via a transformer as it seems a fantastic saw. It's a 2100W machine so for 110v thats 19A, I've been looking around and while I can find plenty of 3000kva transformers they have 2 sockets at 16A each :-( Does anyone know if I'm going to be able to do this without spending 100s on a transformer? Being a hobbyist and workshop based I have no experience on 110v or know what is a good transformer. All his other equipment was 230v so didn't even occur to me it won't be, maybe that was why it was still boxed.

Thanks, Martin

Plenty of site transformers available with 32A sockets (screwfix, ebay amazon and others) - but personally if that was too costly then I'd wing it on a 16A socket - they mostly come with overcurrent protection and it will probably be ok. YMMV

Dee J":12m7fa55 said:
Plenty of site transformers available with 32A sockets (screwfix, ebay amazon and others) - but personally if that was too costly then I'd wing it on a 16A socket - they mostly come with overcurrent protection and it will probably be ok. YMMV