Spindle Moulder Advice please...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrewbullie

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have bought a spindle moulder (Kity 609ti) which is a combined table saw. I have never used one before and I know very little about them. I have a number of questions which I would be very greatful if somebody could give answers to them. Please excuse me if my questions appear dumb but I literally have no knowledge on this topic.

Is there a limit on the type of cutters that I can use?
The spindle is 30mm dia but I have seen a lot of nice tooling in the USA second hand which states 1" 1/4 which is think equates to 31mm, would this be compatible?
Is the machine too small to build up window frame profile cutters?
I've seen adapters which enable the use of router cutters. My router cuts at 22,000rpm but this machine is limited to either 10,000 or 12,000 (can't remember exactly). How will this work with a router bit at the slower speed?
Do I always need to use cutters in pairs like on Eurocutter blocks with limiters?
What is the maximum depth of cutter block I could use? I think I have a 40mm.
What if I wanted to run off some 55mm architrave, can I get another cutter block which is simply bigger or would it create too much resistance for the machine to handle?
And finally, is there much difference in using the machine when cutting soft and hard woods and what precautions should be taken?

Many thanks in advance for any useful info you can provide.

Andy

Appleby woodturning sell top hats to convert 1 1/4" to 30mm, although I wouldnt recommend secondhand if you are new to spindle moulding.

It wont be powerful enough for large window tooling.