which turning chisels????

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nicko

Reaction score
Posted this on the tool advice forum, but thought I might get some good advice here too.

Hi, I'm a newbie and this is my first post!
The story so far:
Second hand Charnwood W812 lathe
Rearrange garage to make space!!
Join this forum, read lots, buy Keith Rowley's book (as recommended buy many on here)
Yandles spring show on Friday, home with record power bench grinder and SC3 chuck
Fleabag today, won sorby deluxe sharpening jig.
Now I need some chisels and I'm away (loads of wood as I'm a tree surgeon!)

So what should I buy? Tempted by the sorby starter set, but would like to hear other's thoughts before I buy.

Thanks for looking

Nick

A set gives you things you don't want or need - however HHS tools can be reground to those special tools you may need in the future. The alternative is to buy only what you need now eg a roughing gouge, a skew and a spindle gouge and parting tool - master spindle turning - its safer than bowl turning and then get your bowl gouge(s), scraper etc

Worth looking at Axminster as a comparison if you are going for a set. They do a set for £98 that would do the job http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-hs ... -tools-set

Brian

Axminster "Perform" range are adequate starter tools IMHO. Please don't be tempted by the £5.99 type sets as seen on evilbay. They are worth slightly less than the selling price and, again IMHO, are bordering on dangerous in the wrong hands. I bought one of those sets to start with and managed to snap the spindle roughing gouge with my inept fumblings. Had I read the Rowley book before using them I would likely not have made the same mistake, but apart from that the steel is very soft and barely holds an edge long enough to walk from the grinder to the lathe.