Latest work just about done

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dino

Established Member
Reaction score
So first of all thanks to everyone who gave me input into fixing my capacitor issue, lathe works like new now.

I've only got the one picture right now as I am still finishing off the bottom of the bowl / box and still need to do an internal lid but...here it is!

Picture!

I'm looking for critique as well as I am still new at this.

Thanks for all the support folks! Wonderful community.

Nice item Dino, you have what appear to be nice, crisp transitions in the bowl recess and the lid. I cannot see much in the way of either toolmarks or sanding marks, so tidy finishing.

The only thing I would say to consider for later projects would be related to the base, going by appearance in this one shot, it looks like you have a a substantially heavy base, the inner bowl seems to stop well short of the outer base, this would make it pretty heavy I am guessing. In this instance that is an inherent aspect of the overall design, designs that allow for a more balanced relationship between the inner and outer shape have a more elegant air. That doesn't mean that there is anything wrong with your item, but it is a pointer to a direction worth exploring.

Hey Kim! Thanks.

The case actually goes in making it much lighter than it appears...I've forgotten the right term, invex? It ... curves inward! I'll post some more pictures but what I just finished today was using my cole-jaws (for the first time) to cut off the excess and sand it down. I'm not sure why I left the bowl so short from the actual size of the piece but it just ended up that way. Next time I'll plan a little further ahead.

I do have a question though, there were some small sanding marks on the base that I couldn't quite get rid of - any tips for removing them? How do I get rid of them completely?