Triton 2000 table saw - Ply tear?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geofract

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm new to this whole word working thing, though I am spending a lot time researching what to buy. Mainly trying to find the right table saw for my needs at the moment.

I am pretty much set on buying a 2nd hand Triton 2000 WC if I can get one at a good price.

At the moment I invisage creating a lot of furniture with plywood, from 12/15/18mm sheet material. I wonder if the Triton can be adapted to have a Zero clearance insert, to save tear when cutting Ply. Or for that matter, would it actually need one in the first place?

Any advise much appreciated :)

A zero clearance insert may help.

I find saw blade height and sharpness is the key. A very sharp rip blade will leave a much cleaner cut than a slightly blunt cross cut blade.

If the saw blade is too high or too low you may find breakout occurs on more on the top or underside, so adjust until you get the best compromise.

You can't have a zero clearance insert on a Triton WC but the slot for the blade to come through is fairly narrow, narrower than a traditional table saw I would say.

Tear out is going to depend on the power and quality of the circular saw you mount in it, the blade you use and having the blade set up correctly. I have a Triton and have used it to cut ply without any tear out.

On saying all that if I started again I wouldn't get a Triton WC. It cuts fine and there is nothing wrong with it per se, but as you get into woodworking more its limitations become apparent.

It's nowhere near as easy to pack away as their videos suggest. With the CS in place its heavy and cumbersome and you won't bother every time you want to use it so discount that as a feature.

The lack of standard mitre slots means as you advance you won't be making cross cut jigs, taper jigs etc.