Small van recommendations

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RossJarvis

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm about to plunge into getting a van, with about £2,500. Along the lines of Renault Kangoo, Vauxhall Combo type. Looking at the various Arthur Daley establishments via the inter web fills me with the dread. Any recommendations on type of vehicle or dealers in the Portsmouth/Petersfield area. I'd maybe rather a private deal but getting around on a motorbike at this time of year to look is a bit of a chore, plus it's too big to sling in the back if I decide to buy :cry: !!

I would have a look at the Suzuki Carry, based on carrying capacity for its size

I've been running a suzuki for 6 years now and if they still made them i'd have a new one tomorrow.

But it's suitability to you depends entirely on what you need from a van, they're not without their quirks.

Your budget would get you the newest (2005) carry with low mileage in good nick.

I had a Suzuki carry van x reg, 2,000 really good sized van, sliding door each side, etc.
Not cheap to run, 36-38 mpg, and best suited to local trips rather than, say, 50 mile trips as easy to over rev the 1300 motor.
Rust can be an issue, 'specially around the front wheel arches/ suspension.
I now have a Citroen Berlingo, which is a Peaugeot really, had it for 7 years now.
Petrol 1600cc 40+ gallon, it's done 167.750miles, no troubles at all, regular servicing.
Couldn't find a 1.9 diesel at a sensible mileage.
Tyres, battery's and a wiper motor, no rust, reliable but a bit smaller than the Suzuki.
Regards Rodders