New T&G Pine Floorboards...why so difficult?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shimmers

Reaction score
Hi all, newby here and absolute beginner diy'er. I have small victorian terrace which I am working on. Removed all the original pine square edge boards, of which I do not have enough of to salvage and am considering replacing with Redwood T&G apprx 21mm thick. Have spoken to both Champion timber and Travis Perkins who stock the said item, but both made the same noises and whistled through their teeth when I said I was intending to use a the finished floor! Not suitable pal...got some lovey engineered here...etc, etc...Apparently they have been instructed by those upstairs not to recommend the T&G as a finish..only for patching or sub-floor use.

Why is this so difficult fgs...all I want to do is retain the character of the original Victorian property, whilst insulating below the boards...The draughts in winter were unbelievable.

All I've read is that the best chance I stand is to keep any new boards in the room for as long as poss, ie, 3 or 4 weeks to acclimatize as best as possible, but other than that, I can't find anyone who seems to offer T&G Redwood properly dried down to about 8-10%...which at least gives me a head start on acclimatizing.
Or am I fighting a losing battle here?

I refuse, point blank, to fit a sub floor, followed by laminate. I despise the stuff. I would consider engineered planks, but again I have the extra costs of a sub-floor, which I cant afford...and I certainly can't afford a constructional solid Oak or similar, to lay straight to the joists.

Does anyone know suppliers that can vouch for their pine T&G, or know anywhere I can get some good quality stuff.
I'm in SW London and would appreciate your thoughts and advice, cos I'm getting a bit frustrated at the mo!