Melamine lacquer finish

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ian_in_the_midlands

Established Member
Reaction score
I keep reading that melamine lacquer is an easy finish.
I have a bottle that have tried many times to finish small turnings without success.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a good tutorial on how to use the stuff?

Thanks.

ian_in_the_midlands":25zsnkld said:
I keep reading that melamine lacquer is an easy finish..
Forgive me while I mop up me drink.

I'm no expert on it's use but have managed to get to grips with it when needed.

It's a very good and robust finish but I would not consider it's easy to use without a certain amount of practise.
It's quick to skin, so avoid going back over any applied area.
For starters try thinning it down for larger areas and quickly swab the area and then leave well alone until hardened.

Speed of application, and leave alone, did I already say that!!
For small items on the lathe I now use the spray can versions, easier to use as long as you are conversant with the usual problems of runs and/or misting with their use, leave well alone until dried!!
Multiple thin coats are better than thick, but leave to dry thoroughly between coats.

If wishing to burnish surface best to leave for a few days to ensure full depth cure to avoid breaking though hardened skin.

An instructional video on Youtube shows a chap putting on coats in very quick succession. I was going by this.
Maybe I need to leave longer between coats? It does appear to dry very quickly. How long to you leave it?
Although I am putting on loads of thin coats (10), a light sanding and I am through to wood.
I suspect I may be melting off the earlier coats and only really ending up with one?

I only leaving an hour or so before burnishing. I will try a few days.

I have found the spray works well, but I want to avoid the mess of overspray.