Running a Colchester lathe with 2HP motor

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

graduate_owner

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm new to metal turning and have the opportunity to get a Colchester Master Mk 2 lathe locally at a sensible price. It has a 3 HP 3-phase motor, and I am thinking of replacing the motor with a 2 HP one as I have a 2 HP 3-phase inverter. Does anyone know if a 2 HP motor would be feasible on this lathe, or would it be way too underpowered? I'm hoping to avoid buying a larger inverter. What's concerning me is that the newer Masters have 5HP and then later on, 7.5HP motors, so perhaps even a 3HP was considered under powered.

I'm not expecting to do any super-sized work on it, but it would be handy if it actually rotates when switched on.

K

Difficult to answer without knowing the size of the lathe (OK, could look on lathesUK, but...), what you are likely to be machining and whether or not you are in a hurry. Think of all the patient old chaps in brown dust coats who did amazing model engineering on ML7s, Drummonds and even treadle lathes, using about half a horse at best. Obviously if you need to turn stainless steel of 10" diameter, for production processes, you want more horses, but you can almost certainly get away with 2hp for amateur use.

Thanks guys.

The Master will turn about 13" diameter, but I'm not anticipating anything like that. The lathe is a 1969 model, and indeed the motor may be 440v, but I have a 2HP dual voltage one ready to swap it for, hence the original question.
I hope I can sort out a solution to make the purchase feasible.

K

Hi Nathan,