Regarding Victorian stopped chamfer skirting boards

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GT40Swede

Reaction score
Hi All - I'm a newbie so go easy on me!! A big first posting

I live in an old house - victorian gothic style, bought it to do it up. It has had many of the skirting boards changed for modern cheap ones but in some parts of the house there are the original 8 or 9" stopped chamfer skirtings which look just right for the house - the chamfer feature is replicated all over the house - newel posts, window casings, door panels - so I want to re-create the missing skirtings.

The skirtings are approx 1" deep - the chamfer is almost the whole depth of the board and is sharp at the ends, it doesn't go right to the end so I can't just take 45 deg off end to end with a table saw - the ends are not rounded like a router had done it

they look machine cut - the house is from the late 1850's

I am trying to figure out the best way of going about this - Triton with an angled rip fence? Plunged in so the ends are ok? Router table? Hand held router? Something else?

the boards will be long lengths - I don't have a triton but have seen one on ebay and am comparing that against a compound mitre saw and a clarke table saw because there is lots of woodwork to do here - architraves/picture rails and more as well as the skirtings.

Any suggestions, help or advice will be appreciated - I can email some pics to a well-meaning member if it helps.

Regards

Tony

Well, welcome to the forum, then to throw in some possibilities to get stopped chamfers.

Firstly obtain 8 or 9” deal (pine) boards which were easy to get in Victorian times but very hard to find nowadays, (otherwise edge-join narrower boards); here’s a few suggestions on cutting chamfers: