spindle moulder block

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bobbins

Reaction score
Looking to buy a spindle moulder block (I'm new to Spindle Moulders, have recently got a SCM CU300K combi machine). Some of the tooling looks to be really expensive and I'm on a tight budget. I've seen some on ebay sold by a company PTA Direct. Cant post a link, but search ebay for "120mm x 40mm SPINDLE MOULDER CUTTER BLOCK & 6 KNIFE SET" - £141 and you get to choose which knifes/limiters you want - which seems like a good starting point for someone with nothing.

Has any had any dealings with these blocks and knifes. What is the difference between a cheap block like this and more expensive one?

Appreciate your opinions, especially if you've had first hand experience.

Thanks

I bougfht a CMT block set from David Biven Machinery Blackpool area). I think I paid about £90. He also has a huge supply of 40 & 50mm cutters and limiters which I believe he told me were bought from a liquidated company. He is very reasonably priced and very knowledgeable.

David

Thanks Nathan, yes I've looked a the whitehill products - they seem to be on the expensive end (approx £50 for a set of knifes/limiters) compared with approx <£20 elsewhere.

Thanks David - those CMT blocks look good - nice orange colour too.

I'd really like to know if the cheaper blocks are inferior in some way or other - perhaps they area not balanced as good? Any one had any trouble like this? Or perhaps the standard Euro knifes dont fit so well?

At the end of the day, with such a large amount of metal spiniing at around 10K rmp I would recommend that you seek further professional guidance or attend a workshop. Buying cheap second hand may not be the way to go unless you know the kit to be in good order.