Where to buy wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jigsaw

Established Member
Reaction score
Hey guys.

Newbie here :)

Just taking up the wonderful hobby of Woodworking.

I have a really good PDF about basic box making so thats where I want to start, so my question is ..

Where can I buy the wood ?

I live in the East Midlands, Nottinghamshire and I am not sure where to go from here, should I be looking for local timber merchants ?

The first box I want to make says I need:

White Oak
Baltic Birch Plywood
Hardwood of my choice
Walnut

Any help on where I can source wood whether shopping online or ebay etc would be much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance :D

I use timberscut4u, very good service and quality. Mainly Tulip for cabinet doors etc. A little Oak. Might be expensive for you if you need small quantities as there is admin and delivery charge.

Is the plan American in origin?

Walnut (and American black walnut) is beautiful timber but is expensive, particularly for a first project. White oak is harder to source than European oak.

I would have a look on eBay for a couple of contrasting timbers to use. Choose something you like but not on the walnut scale of pricing- sapele and maple would be a couple of suggestions. Baltic birch may prove expensive too because places tend to sell full sheets

I would try eBay or a local joinery shop that might sell you some off cuts.

A-Ha ! good question and yes you are right, my PDF is Basic Box Making by Doug Stowe and the first box it asks you to make looks like this:

99928091_md.jpg

Thanks for the tip, I haven't had much luck with local timber merchants and others I have found want nearly £20 delivery so evilbay here I come :)

Have you got rough quantities of what you need- they are smaller than I thought. I don't have a lot of much at the moment but might find you a bit of oak maybe.