Aereopiccola Vibro 2000 saw problem

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rogerj

Reaction score
Hi all..This is my first post so I'll introduce myself first. I'm a retired electronics/broadcasting engineer living in Cornwall. I do some woodwork as a hobby but generally it 's not very classy stuff - although I have a reasonably well equipped workshop. The problem is that I have a good friend who does some very nice fine work in his and has been making good use of his Vibro saw - which has now stopped working. So he has brought it to me to try and fix. He is wrongly convinced that I can fix anything !

Unfortunately, this time, I'm stumped and I am at a bit of a disadvantage in that I've never seen it working. On switching on it makes a furious buzzing noise, the blade is pulled downward but only vibrates a very small amount - probably only 1 tooths worth and it will not cut at all. I am wondering what the correct "stroke" should be - and whether resonance of the spring plate and or the upper spring provides the means by which useful oscillation occurs.

It's very simple construction and everything about it looks OK. There is a pad of foam on the central magnet pole but I assume that's original. The maximum possible downward deflection looks about 5mm so I wonder if the "stroke" should be 10mm ?
I also wonder if there could be a diode in the circuit that reduces the pulse rate to 25HZ. I can't see any sign of it only that one could be situated under the magnet. If there is it's now a short circuit. That maybe a flight of fancy though !

Enough rambling....I wonder if anyone has an idea what might be wrong...and a happy new year to all...Roger

I have done a forum search and there is little mention of the vibro saw so it would seem that few if any members have one.