Work Sharp 2000

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi

Depending in it's intended use it may be prudent to consider a Tormek or similar wet stone grinder

Regards Mick

I had the Scheppach Tiger which is broadly similar to the Tormek. Couldn't get on with it and sold it. I hate having water sloshing around in my workshop and the footprint needed to take this into consideration was way way too big. The WorkSharp on the other hand just sits quietly in the corner ...ready for action at a moments notice. So so easy just to touch up the edge in seconds.

Hi

I've no experience of the Scheppach, but the Tormek certainly does not 'slosh' water in use :)

Regards Mick

I have the WS3000 and it's fantastic, as long as you don't expect it to be what it's not.

What it is, is a fantastically easy to use, very very quick way of sharpening, retuning or simply honing bench chisels and other blades up to about 2 inches across. It's also great for freehand sharpening etc of shaped blades like carving chisels and gouges when you use the slotted wheel that allows you to see through the grinding surface, to watch the edge of your tool being shaped (a black marker makes this beautifully easy and accurate). Freehand sharpening of other blades on the normal abrasive disks is great, if you are into freehand, but I find personally I need the optional rest and a jig.

What it's not is a perfect solution straight out the box for every type of sharpening. If you have enormously wide plane blades, you'd struggle without a jig, if even that was possible. Knives come up with a gorgeous edge, but that's only using the optional belt drive for knives and long blades (if you have one, let me know if you want a cheap source of micromesh belts for it - I found them at less than £2 each)