Court action

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Baldhead

Established Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know how you can put a directors name as well as a limited companies name on court papers? Looks like I will have to take our letting agent to court, but my fear is he will just wind the company up.

I have seen programs on TV where the court papers have both the company name on and the directors names on, that way the company and the directors personal assets can be seized.

Baldhead

I'm sure it reads "John Arthur Bloggs trading as (T/A) Hardrock mining company".
But as I am no expert, It would probably be a good idea to speak to the clerk of the court in question, and be sure.
Regards Rodders

I don't think that the directors can be personally liable unless they have been negligent (trading when they knew they were insolvent) or have signed personal guarantees to creditors. That is what the limited is- limited to the assets of the company.

I don't know about your case or the company. If they have other customers, letting is quite profitable so hopefully they won't go bust for a few grand.

Have you checked your house insurance- you may have legal cover within it. Worth looking anyway.

marcros":2m3qcnf8 said:
I don't think that the directors can be personally liable unless they have been negligent (trading when they knew they were insolvent) or have signed personal guarantees to creditors. That is what the limited is- limited to the assets of the company.

I don't know about your case or the company. If they have other customers, letting is quite profitable so hopefully they won't go bust for a few grand.

Have you checked your house insurance- you may have legal cover within it. Worth looking anyway.

The was law changed in 2006irc :
http://www.icaew.com/en/archive/lib...irectors-personally-liable-for-companys-debts