Wet wood?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drillbit

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm a very amateur woodworker, and I normally buy my wood from Travis Perkins.

This week, I thought I'd try my nearest independent timber merchants, thinking I might get better quality timber.

I wanted some 2x2 stud to build a rack in my workshop. When it arrived I got a couple of surprises. First, it was green, tanalised wood, and second, it was very wet. The first point, I put down to my own inexperience, because the bloke said it's all treated now. But wet? It wasn't just a bit damp from being loaded in the rain, but wet like it had been outdoors for a while. I've had it drying indoors for over 24 hours now, and it's still wet to the touch.

It's a pain, because I was hoping to run it through the thicknesser to remove the green treated part and have nice untreated timber to make my rack with. I don't really want to thickness it while it's wet.

Is it normal for wood yards to deliver wet wood like this? Being an inexperienced amateur, I'm always torn between thinking I've been ripped off, and thinking I'm being paranoid and just don't know what the norm is.

by the sounds of it you have bought fencing timber? like larch or something. when you say timber merchants do they sell different hard and softwoods veneered board etc. or like decking boards.

adidat

edit. i have a great place near me for outdoor timber it sits out all year round open to the elements so its soaked.

Hi adidat

They sell everything - sheet goods, PSE, hard woods, all sorts. Advertised as 'timber and builders merchants'.