bed extensions and mini lathes - easy to use/detach?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericdockum

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I am new to turning, and of course have a couple of questions around practical experience of bed extensions.

The Background
I have a small workshop, so I cannot practically accommodate a larger lathe in a fixed position, as it would take up too much space.
I have also had a few spinal operations, so I tend to limit anything I have to lift to about 20kg.
I would probably be looking at making smaller items, so would not need a huge diameter capability. But I would like to be able to work on items longer than 12”, up to 3’ if possible.

So:

A mini (or midi?) lathe would seem to be a good idea, reasonably light, I could lift/slide it a short distance off the bench to a trolley at the same height, and then wheel it away for storage.
I could put some flush fittings into the bench so the lathe could be bolted down in use, thus leaving the bench surface clear when the lathe is removed. I have a bench grinder and a carving head set up like this already.
I see there are bolt on bed extensions available for some mini lathes that would extend the length, but detach so that the individual parts are within my lift capability of 20kgs.

The questions:

Does anyone have a bed extension on a mini lathe that they often attach/remove? How easy is it? Does it need tricky alignment to set up each time, and is it easy/quick to separate?
Or is it perhaps sufficiently awkward that it ends up staying permanently bolted together? From the pictures it is usually 2 bolts, but they are possibly difficult to get to underneath the bed.

The mini lathes seem to come with rubber feet. In practice is it best to bolt them down, including the bed extension?