Makita MTL100 Table Saw or Festool TS 55 Track Saw?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tombo46

Established Member
Reaction score
Ello people. I'm currentlly tooling up for a refit of my shop (Greengrocers). I own very few tools right now but will need to be ripping 50mm scaffold boards among a few other things like sheet materials etc. I am debating whether or not I need a table saw or not. I don't currently own one either so if I were to get the Festool it would be as a replacement. So can the track saw really replace the table saw? Opinions please!

Cheers,

Tom

Tombo46":1e91002b said:
So can the track saw really replace the table saw?
I've been doing this for a living for the last 12 years, and bought my first table saw last Christmas; I think I've used it three times, exclusively for narrow rips - which is what I wanted it for. As soon as you start throwing sheet materials into the mix, then a track saw (I have the Festool, others makes are available...) really comes into it's own.

For me, a track saw was/is far more versatile than a table saw - but I work mostly in sheet materials, so it makes sense for me. That said, I used my TS55 to rip some 50mm redwood today (standard blade) and it was absolutely fine - though I'd suggest a ripping blade if you plan to do a lot of them.

If you do a forum search, that Makita doesn't seem to have worked out too well for other folks. And as an aside, standard scaff boards are either 38mm or 63mm thick, with 38mm being more common.

HTH Pete

petermillard":3l0vjqvp said:
Tombo46":3l0vjqvp said:
So can the track saw really replace the table saw?