Lathe advice needed!!!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RogiBear

Established Member
Reaction score
I am a complete novice to turning. However I'm in need of a lathe to carry work out on snooker cues. Tapering down blanks, drilling and fitting ferrules etc. The problem is I need a C2C of about 62" I have heard that you can use record lathes and use longer bars to extend them. Using a centre steady to stop vibrations etc. Would this be my best bet or are there other alternatives without spending 1000's? Any specific tools you would recommend?

Cheers

If you are wanting to turn something as specific as a snooker cue then the cheapest option would be to rig up a home made lathe utilizing a headstock of some description & making the rest from some dry stable timber.
That way you could make it a long as you need with a tool rest as long as the lathe, that way you can make a single pass along the whole length. I`ve seen this done by a chap who turned walking sticks with great success.

Regards.

dj.

dj.":3m42so5r said:
If you are wanting to turn something as specific as a snooker cue then the cheapest option would be to rig up a home made lathe utilizing a headstock of some description & making the rest from some dry stable timber.
That way you could make it a long as you need with a tool rest as long as the lathe, that way you can make a single pass along the whole length. I`ve seen this done by a chap who turned walking sticks with great success.

Regards.

dj.

Ok, thanks for that. Be kind if I have this completely wrong. So if I were to do this are you saying I wouldn't need a tail? Or could I use a tail and just make the bit in between. Also is there a particular motor size I would require or speed setting for this type of work?

Thanks in advance

Hi,