Home made hollowing tool

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm no engineer but i don't think mild steel would be strong enough not to bend when deep hollowing.
I will watch with interest though because I am considering going down the same path. Most commercial hollowing tools are simply glorified mounts for cutting tips designed to take only specific manufacturer's tips.

Hi do your self a favour and save some money go to your local shock absorber supplier / garage and ask them for a set of old front shocks that attach to the inside top of the mud gaurd. These shocks have a case hardened steel rod in and it is thick enough for what you want to do. If they wants money offer them twice the value of scrap steel because they are worthless after been removed from a car. I have some which I grind a flat on and drill and tap a hole to attach a scrapper made from a piece of planner blade. Regards Roger C

I have made quite a few of these tools with great success I have used silver steel for the shorter ones Mild steel and stainless steel for larger ones including some with articulated heads

Attachments

• 13.JPG
    13.JPG
    58 KB · Views: 2,963
  • 11.JPG
    11.JPG
    89.6 KB · Views: 2,963
  • 23.jpg
    23.jpg
    24.1 KB · Views: 2,961
Hi

Mild steel will be fine, 7/8" is probably overkill unless you are going really deep - I'd be happy enough with 5/8" for up to about 15" exension from the handle.

I think you may struggle to find silver steel in greater than one foot lengths - it is available but not too readily.

Try and find your steel locally in a fabricators or engineering works - that price in your link is rather steep to say the least.

Be careful if you go down the damper breaking route - some have high pressure gas inside.

Regards Mick