If you could have only one woodworking machine/powertool?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

morfa

Established Member
Reaction score
If you could have only one woodworking machine/powertool, what would it be? I generally prefer handtools, but now I'm hopefully going to have a workshop soon, I've been vaguely thinking it might be nice to have something for bigish resawing jobs.

So thought I'd see what powertools you guys think are essential. Which led me to the question above. Pick one and only one. Ideally the tool that is the most flexible.

not flexible really, but a time saver. I would probably go for a thicknesser (or planer thicknesser). It all depends on what you want to make though and for what purpose. I have came to realise that I quite enjoy slowly plodding along. If I was doing it for a living, I would be very hungry and bankrupt, but it is a hobby. think twice, measure 3 times, try to cut once!

Most jobs need some element of thicknessing though, and I would prefer the option of sending it through a machine than doing it by hand.

It's not one Morfa, it's two. A bandsaw and a thicknesser, because ripping and thickness planing to finished dimensions are the two most arduous tasks in woodworking, so it makes sense to get some electrical help!

Furthermore, there are plenty of machines where quality has really nosedived with the proliferation of cheap, far eastern imports. But there are decent offerings in bandsaws and portable thicknessers even at bargain prices. And these two machines have exceptionally small footprints, so can be accommodated in almost any workshop.

+1 for bandsaw....versatility alone make it invaluable.

Ripping, resawing, planking from logs (on a small scale), radius cuts, veneers, tenons, bevels, turning blank creation.

Its also about the safest "big" machine tool.