Best filler for wood cracks in Live Edge piece

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonoA

Reaction score
Hello,

First post here, hoping to get some help if possible.

I've managed to get my hands on a great piece of lumber (Sycamore) and was looking to turn it into a coffee table of some sort. Cost me £10 off Gumtree!

The size is about 90cm x 120cm and is about 5cm thick.

The issue I have is that I'm wondering how best to go about filling the cracks in the wood. There are a few that span the whole depth of the wood and at the largest point are about 12mm wide. Some of the smaller ones are just a couple mm deep.

I'm wondering if an epoxy or wood filler would be best? Also, there are that many to choose from would people be able to point me in the right direction as which brand or even type to choose as I'm still learning my trade, as it were.

Also, what's people's thoughts on keeping/removing the bark? I've read that they can be dust magnets and really hard to maintain with chipping quite common. But, I do like how it looks on there.

Thanks in advance!

Jono

Attachments

• IMG_4429.gif
    IMG_4429.gif
    238.1 KB · Views: 210
  • IMG_4430.gif
    IMG_4430.gif
    233.4 KB · Views: 210
  • IMG_4431.gif
    IMG_4431.gif
    240.7 KB · Views: 210
  • IMG_4432.gif
    IMG_4432.gif
    234.7 KB · Views: 210
Hi Jonoa and welcome to the forum

I rather fear your coffee table project may be a little doomed before it's even begun! That is unless you're happy to continue filling new cracks that will be opening for about the next 3 years on the piece.