Bandsaw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikw1961

Reaction score
Hi
I'm new to using a bandsaw , but i need to rip 4" poles 2.8 m's long in half length ways. Any suggestions on which bandsaw to buy?? Was looking at the Record bs250. Any help would be appreciated.
Many Thanks

Mik

With bandsaws, as they're such a versatile tool, you always want to aim for as big as you can afford (in terms of both cost and space), so that you don't have to inevitably upgrade a bench model like the 250 later down the line. So if you think you're going to stick to this hobby, I'd recommend to start with at least a BS300 (12") (1HP).

With band saws bigger is better and i would say it needs to have a cast iron table not an ali one.

With Blades, it really depends on what you intend to use your bandsaw for. I do have a 1/2" Tuffsaw blade but rarely use it as I need to make plenty of turns and smaller blades are more useful. You should really have a few blades and whilst I appreciate that cost may be important, a 1/4" and 3/16" blades are very useful. A 1/2" would be suitable for heavier cuts.

Tuffsaw are very helpful and if you could manage to get to talk with Ian there (usually very busy) he can guide you on what would be best for your individual needs.
Malcolm

If you are going to be ripping round poles then you will need to make some sort of sled to hold the log and prevent it rolling. Google bandsaw sled for some ideas. Trying to cut round stock without proper support usually results in the log twisting round with the force of the blade. This can pull your hands into the blade as worst case but usually results in a kinked or broken blade.
Regards
John

Orraloon is spot-on, and you probably need supports either side of the saw too, or at least another pair of hands to help for the job you describe.