In a 240v or 110v debate for Makita track saw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TomP

Established Member
Reaction score
Might sound like a bit of a weird debate but...

Im going to be ordering a Makita track saw. Currently I'm not working site so don't really have the need for 110v. I work as a handyman part time local whilst finishing Uni where i guess could be useful as other contractors seem to use 110.

However I'm currently having the debate whether to take up Carpentry/Joinery after Graduating in which 110v might come in handy.

I'm basically in a debate of spend out for transformer etc and potentially carry it around for no reason, with in the long term wish i got the 110v once had a need for it then be a bit stuck with a 240v.

Hope this makes sense, any advice welcome

Tom

All building sites should have a 110volt supply as the general supply around the site, 110 transformers can be picked up very cheaply on e-bay , but my are they heavy to lug around, the can also cause nuisance tripping of MCB's on domestic premises due to the inrush current exceeding the rating of the MCB when combined with other appliance's on the same ring main, but 110volts is much safer for all concerned on any premise's that has any building work being carried out.

Mike

thats true, my logic was kind of one will work for all, 240 wont.

There is always lots of debate about the 110v thing. I am a full time joiner but never work on site where 110v is needed, I am all 240v. I think it's a bit of a grey area as to if you need it in customers houses for insurance etc but somebody might put me straight on this. Transformers are a pain and for some things like if running a mitre saw and extractor you need a 5kva which is a beast to lug around. Some tools are less powerful in their 110v version also.