HELP! Pine unit stain gone wrong!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alice21

Reaction score
Hi there :D

I had a lovely new built-in pine alcove unit recently put in and asked my decorator to stain it for me in a medium oak colour I bought. He said it was a cheap make and bought a varnish in a brand he likes. I was not home when he applied the varnish and it wasn't the colour I wanted...it was red! He then tried to sand it back and applied my original stain which was a better colour however the finish and edges were terrible.

My husband has used a palm sander (120 grit and then 240) to try and get rid of the varnish/stain so we can try again however the outcome is blotchy and different shades where the stain has taken (see photo if it attaches) :(

Now this is where I get confused about what we need to do as we're total novices at this! Do I apply a stain/varnish/wax? I want something easy to apply that goes on evenly over the patches and is durable. We also think we'll go darker, maybe a dark oak/walnut.

Any advice you can provide will be much appreciated as I've exhausted Google!! :?

Here is the alcove sanded down but still discoloured...what do i do!?

Attachments

• Alcove.jpg
    Alcove.jpg
    170.2 KB · Views: 1,126
I'm a not really an expert in finishes but the only way I would be able to sort that out would be by painting it, then making a new top in hardwood (probably in oak or elm) to drop over the existing to hide it. I made something similar a couple of weeks ago. It's not finished in the picture and the photo is atrocious, but you get the idea:

IMG_20150803_183642.jpg
[/URL]

If you look around the forum you'll find nicer examples, but it's the only photo I have to hand.

Where about in Wales are you based?

Cheers,

Ed.