Ercol drop leaf Windsor table and chairs refinishing

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Feksake

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the forum....
Bought the above broken and with black spots and in a poor state generally, but its beautiful.
I have stripped, repaired and used Oxcalic acid for the black spots.
I am poised with 240 grit, but do not know what product to use to finish it with.
I wanted a light finish but an original finish. Ercol state that they finished their furniture with Clear Mat Lacquer, but which one? which range of their funiture.?
I am tempted to go for a water based clear mat, but need advice to get it right first time!
The original finish seemed to be a varnish on the spokes and I presume the same on the elm seat bases, but I am not an expert.
Is Manns water based a contender?
Kind regards to all that chip in with advice.

I wouldn't get too worried about using the same stuff to refinish. At the factory, they would want something that could be sprayed and would dry quickly, and need the fewest possible coats.

At home, for a one-off, you can take your time and probably won't mind doing two or three coats. And you will presumably be wiping or brushing your finish.

There do seem to be some excellent, tough water based acrylic or polyurethane finishes now. There is also the newer category of " hard wax oil " from Osmo or Chestnut.

So I suggest you use what you are comfortable with, and do the underside first, to make sure.

I re finished in the in-laws Ercol table. Used Liberon finishing oil and it came out very well. They were over the moon about it and it still looks good today and sees plenty of use.

Attachments

• CIMG1135.jpg
    CIMG1135.jpg
    247.6 KB · Views: 2,195
  • CIMG1122.jpg
    CIMG1122.jpg
    235.2 KB · Views: 2,195