Turning chisels

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave2339

Reaction score
Hi just started turning as a hobby I have bought a nova comet 2 with chucks ect
My question is I am looking for a good set of turning chisels
Around £150 any one know of a set suit a complete beginner
I used to turn at school some 30 years ago but not turned since then
Any suggestions welcome thanks dave

I started turning about 18 months ago and went through lots of gouges, scrapers. skew chisels and whatnot before I settled on a few core tools that I use all the time. If I was starting now, with the knowledge I have, I would buy the Axminster HSS set. It covers pretty much all the bases for a beginner. I have bought a couple of those tools separately and they are decent quality - certainly good enough for starters:

http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-hs ... set-400228

With your budget you'll have enough left for a bench grinder to keep them sharp:

http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-ho ... der-505194

selectortone":2376updb said:
I started turning about 18 months ago and went through lots of gouges, scrapers. skew chisels and whatnot before I settled on a few core tools that I use all the time. If I was starting now, with the knowledge I have, I would buy the Axminster HSS set. It covers pretty much all the bases for a beginner. I have bought a couple of those tools separately and they are decent quality - certainly good enough for starters:

http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-hs ... set-400228

I started with that set. It's ok but the bowl gouge is not a bowl gouge, despite what they might claim. It's more like a long spindle gouge - the flute is too shallow for a bowl gouge and the wings are too short. When you get to the stage of wanting to grind them back for a swept profile you will really struggle.