Infill Mitre Plane Build (amateur hour), Help?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Biliphuster

Established Member
Reaction score
A few months ago I picked up a mitre plane casting and have only now worked up the nerve to tackle it. I've never done an infill before, so all help and advice from those who have experience would be greatly appreciated. If it comes out 1/4 as well as some of the ones seen on here I'd be very happy.

I have only taken the beginning steps and have taken a little break to ask for some advice as to what to do next.

I started out by filing the protruding bolts from the bed and filing the rest smooth. I have no mill or lathe, so all steps are carried out by hand.

1.jpg

Then I fitted in a piece of oak for some practice. It was slightly tapered front to back, which I will have to be more careful about on the real thing.

2.jpg

Take it out and saw the wedge angle.

3.jpg

I had a play at being a gunsmith and tried soot fitting the front infill, not very well

4.jpg

At this point a realised the line drawn on the side of the casting as received was not the bed angle, but higher. I proceeded to file down th back to accommodate the blade without it bridging from either end of the plane. This required some bravery as I had to permanently alter the casting when I had no idea what I was doing. I also took the opportunity to clean up the inside and level the top a little. The mouth of the casting had been opened by someone on a milling machine but it was quite a rough job and they left some gouges inside down by the mouth, these are staying because getting them out would require widening the inside by 1.5mm each side by hand. Other than these the inside has cleaned up well, only a little more to do there, 60 grit sandpaper is very useful for this.

5.jpg