Spray finishing MDF edges - How I do it

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard Findley

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Let me start by explaining that I am relatively new to spraying and have learned through a combination of trial and error and hints and tips picked up from people in the know and of course the forum!!!

Here's what I do (and the products I use)

Cut MDF to size and run a hand plane over to remove machine marks. Rout mould (or in this case chamfer):

P3230046.JPG

Hand sand with 240grit - Carefully!!

P3230047.JPG

A coat of Morrells White Primer 8005/641 (Waterbourne)

P3230049.JPG

This appears quite rough still but a light hand sand with 400grit removes all fluffy bits and leaves a smooth finish:

P3230050.JPG

2 coats of Morrells 362 "Severe Use" Waterbourne Lacquer gloss white. I've found that there is no need to rub down in-between coats. In this case I also finished with a coat of clear 90% gloss as there was another detail on the surface that needed a coat to even the gloss all over:

P3270055.JPG

I hope you have enjoyed reading this and that it is of some help to someone out there.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Richard looks like you have got a good finish there pretty much how i do it.

I was just wondering how you got on with the morrells waterbased top coat. I usually use morrells Acid Cat lacquers but have been meaning to give the waterbased stuff a go and do my bit for the environment. I have tried the waterbased primer and was impressed by that.

Jon

Hi Jon,