Incompatible (Axminster) Tee Bolts and (Rutlands) T Track

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wizard9999

Established Member
Reaction score
As I'm new to all this it may be well known by everyone, but just in case it helps somebody. I have recently bought some Rutlands T Track and the Axminster jig making kit incl. Tee Bolts. The Rutland track is specified as 1/2" which to my mind equates to 12.7mm. I had presumed that this was the width of the wide part of the track, if that assumption is correct then it comes up small at c.12.1mm. This would not have been a problem if the Axminster bolts were the 12mm wide quoted in the Key Features of the jig making kit, but they're not, they vary but are roughly 12.8mm.

So in order to use the Tee Bolts in the T Track I will have to work on the bolt heads, which kinda defeats the point of buying the jig making kit in the first place.

Interestingly I feel more annoyed with Axminster. Maybe this is because they highlight the 12mm width in the Key Features, maybe it is because if they had been the right size it would not have mattered about the track (whereas even if the track was exactly 1/2" the bolts still wouldn't fit) or maybe it is because I expect more from Axminster given past experience.

Terry.

can't you send them back and reorder for rutland?

annoying, I know and not the point of the post.

marcros":52fc1ia7 said:
can't you send them back and reorder for rutland?

annoying, I know and not the point of the post.

I guess I could, but made more difficult by having used a few of the bits in the kit to build a router table fence already. Lesson learned now though, don't mix'n'match from suppliers.

Terry

T-Track. AAARRGGGHHH!!!