Creating a dark finish on ply wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stooby

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello, I need a dark wood for a backer to a scroll saw project. i have used Birch ply for the image, the cut out is a silhouette. I have made it A4 in size and am now struggling to find a dark wood to finish it off. Is there a way to finish off ply wood to get a dark finish?

Sorry I am still new to wood work and this would be a great help to know the good ways to treat plywood.

Thanks.

Paint is the most obvious solution. But you could simply dye the wood, although you need to be aware that there is a tendency for the dyed surface of plywood to show blotchiness. The importance of the blotched effect, if evident, depends to a great extent upon what you find acceptable, and there are techniques to either lessen or eliminate this blotching tendency. With you admitting to being a novice I'm not going to overload you at this stage with technical information about advanced wood finishing techniques, e.g., eliminating blotching. Slainte.

How does a veneer work? Does it come in a sheet you glue on? If so any advice on a good online supplier and what glue to use?
If I wanted to use a dye again any advice on what kind to use? I have only used vanished and old so far and I don't think either would give me a good look.

Stooby":2e9zw1wn said:
How does a veneer work? Does it come in a sheet you glue on? If so any advice on a good online supplier and what glue to use?