Stripped pine: colour matching

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xpabu

Reaction score
Hi

I'm very new to woodworking but keen to learn more -- we've got some recently stripped doors and architraves (both pine) which I'd like to finish myself. The guys who stripped them for us used dichloromethane on the architraves (which have come up a sort of 'raw' but greenish stripped pine colour). For the doors they have used something else (I don't know what), however they have a very definite pink/orange tint to them. I don't know what's caused this tint but of course now the doors and architraves don't match.

I've tried sanding the doors down, different tinted waxes on both to try and match the colours better but there's still a mismatch.

Any ideas what this colouring may be due to and any suggestions on how to either remove the tint (that would be the best outcome) or suggest a way (less keen to do this) to colour the architraves more inline with the doors? I've considered liming or bleaching the doors but I'd appreciate advice from you experts!

Thanks in advance
Paul

Hi Paul,
I think the pink colour will be the residue of a primer. It can only be removed by applying stripper and scrubbing with a corse wire wool (2 grade) then sanding, probably starting with 100 grit and then 150 and finishing with 240.
It is likely your doors will still not match your architrave and you will need to adjust the colour a little but how you do this will depend on what you are going to use to finish them.
Can you post a few photos?

how old roughly are the doors and architrave? are they same age even? what sort of finish were on both?

Hi