Used Table Saw - Advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dino

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been offered a Clarke 10" table saw (CTS10D model number I believe) for £70, used. I am new to wood working (more of a hobbyist) and need it for simply cutting planks to size, mitre-ing and cutting dado slots.

My price range isn't very high, I've seen this board recommend the TS200 but that is too expensive for me right now (only looking to spend about £100 max as I would like to buy other tools too).

Any advice would be most welcome. Sorry if this is a repeat post.

it looks like its £180 new so £70 doesnt sound that bad. It depends on the size of material you are working with i think. Its a bench top version so if your cutting boards it will very difficult. But if its small lengths and widths you can get away with this type.

I doubt it will cut mitres accurately enough for gluing, but you could always use a hand plane and shooting board. It definitely won't take a dado stack. I wouldn't worry too much about that feature.

I've never used a table saw before, the dado cutting feature was quite important to be as I'd love to try to add some different wood as lining for aesthetics.

The planks I am working with are quite small (width maybe 5 inches maximum with length less than 3 feet) so the size shouldn't worry me too much but cutting mitre's is quite important to the projects I have in mind.

I'd guess Dino you've been reading a lot of American web sites and books.
Dado cutting isn't regarded as very safe here in Europe, so to a significant amount has been legislated away by making most powered saws incapable of using dado blades. Which is probably a good thing. If you want to cut slots to add stringing, use a router instead.