Blades again

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MauriceD

Established Member
Reaction score
I sought advice earlier this week about blades for my new scroll saw. Since then I have managed to cut out 4 animals in 3/4" soft pine. Today the first blade snapped, quickly followed by two more. All snapped at the bottom just at the point that the teeth start. I thought I had tensioned them sufficiently as I play guitar every day I know the sound of a guitar string. The wood also jumped around despite having the safety clamp allowing just enough room to turn the wood. Any advice wood be appreciated.
Maurice.

I'm not a expert. but is the wood bent/warped, that always makes the wood dance about.
Which blades you using? I use FD no5's for cutting inch pine. Make sure you allow the blade to do the cutting, do not push hard (I always do after thinking everythings going well and then snap the blade.)