Blade facing wrong way?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SuzyJones

Reaction score
Hi, I'm totally new to scrolling but having taken my work pension a couple of weeks ago, I fancied having a go. I was going to buy an inexpensive Scheppach scroll saw but Aldi had a similar one for about half the price. My husband set it up and it seems to work well (in as far as I know), however the pinned blade cutting edge faces to the left which means I have to stand to the left to cut. This doesn't seem right to me but what do I know? Is that normal?

In the meantime I'm waiting for some pinless blades I bought on the internet to try some internal cuts. Looking at the instructions, these would be facing the front, so looking forward to trying those.

Thanks for any advice.

Cutting edge usually faces forward, is there an adjustment or rotating mechanism? Or maybe the blade holder not seated correctly Photo would help.

EDIT: Just looked at the saw on line and whilst the photo isn't clear it does show the blade cutting edge to the left so I don't know. Not sure it makes any difference when you're working though I'd find it a bit strange at first.

Is this it? https://www.aldi.co.uk/workzone-120w-sc ... 0173517100
Bob

Morning, your blade should be facing front usually

Do you have a picture of the blade clamp/holder on yours

Does yours look similar to this ?

Attachments

• Clip216.jpg
    Clip216.jpg
    62.1 KB · Views: 1,263
I wonder if you have this type of blade holder?

Which allows side fitting of a pinned blade and well as forward facing ?

Most are just forward facing

Attachments

• Clip220.jpg
    Clip220.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 1,256
The ADLI (Workzone) saw is the generic saw that is sold by everyone and their granny (Record, SiP, Scheppach, Jet, Ozito, Kobe, Clarke, Dayton, Ryobi... the list is almost endless)