How do we get kids to be engineers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
heimlaga":2euhwu7y said:
I am 36 so I am young-ish. With a Bathelor's degree in construction egineering and know how to calculate the strenght of things. I have well over 20 years experience of building and repairing stuff. I have worked as a carpenter both building modern wooden houses and also shifting rotten logs in log buildings. I can make furniture as well as joinery. I know enough bricklaying to build a chinmey when needed. I can weld and forge and rebuild machinery. i have done some logging now and then. I usually repair my own car and tractor. I am somewhat accustomed to cirkular sawmills. I have shifted planks and frames and even taken part in shifting the keel on a wooden boat. I have repasired trhe laminate of a fiberglass boat.
Well......that sounds pretty good doesn't it......... but it makes me totally and eternally unemployable as an angineer.

They expect an engineer to be at most 24 years old. Solid upper class with a lifestyle that befits a high status job. Rich enough to not need the wage to uphold his lifestyle. Never a day on the dole nor a week ill in his entire career. The only desireable qualification is computer skills.
First and foremost he must not, that is MUST NOT have any sort of practical experience with the job he is going to plan or lead.

No wonder engineering is doing downhill and all development is focused on computers......

it sounds like you have achieved a lot though, not many people could do all those things, no need to be so hard on yourself.

I am not hard on myself. I am very proud of my skills....... I just find it incredibly ironic that employers don't want an engineer with theese qualifications. Instead they want an upper class kid with no skills and qualifications whatsoever.