Old dog new tricks

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whatknot

Established Member
Reaction score
Sorry for the long saga, but to explain ;-)

They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but they also say you are never to old to learn

I have never tried rust removal using white vinegar, I was not expecting very much but have been very surprised at the results (nay shocked)

I have an old sea chest I have been carting around for many years, it was in my birth home, probably picked up by my mother at an auction sale

I had it stripped years ago but never got around to finishing it off

The two lid hinges are large and one at least looks to be hand made, they were totally rusted and seized up

I took them off and soaked them in white vinegar, checked after a day and they looked the same but a soft wire brush removed the vast majority of the rust with ease, after a second soak and brush up they are moving freely and frankly like new, I wouldn't have believed it had I not done it myself

Finally heres my question, what would be the best treatment for these reborn ancient hinges?

I intend to keep the chest in natural wood finish, the hinges painted

Hammerite? or some other primer/top coat ?

I also used the same white vinegar treatment on a few tools sat in my collection for years, again brilliant results

With tools clearly paint is not an option, after a good rinse in water I have WD40'd them for now but whats the best finish for them post vinegar ?

Again apologies for the long saga (if you are still reading ;-)

Jade oil is the best treatment I have used for old metal. Forms a protective layer and stops further rusting
Cheers Mark