Where to start

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MountainMan

Reaction score
First post. I'm a newbie to the forum, and not done anything fancy in wood since wood work at school 20+ years ago. I'd like to potter away making things (kids toys, garden furniture). I've been browsing for a few weeks and found it interesting.

I'm kitting out my shed (10'x12') for dual use. One 10' side is mostly glass and the potting bench, the other 10' side is going to be my hobby bench. Trying to plan how to fit in tools - currently thinking of a stumpy L shape, with the lathe on the extension, the pillar drill in the corner, working area then bandsaw and lower section of workbench, table saw and router table stored underneath to come out into room.

I'd be quite interested if anyone has some photos or plans they could share on how they've fitted into what is approximately a 5' x 10' space using just 1 long and 1 short wall. I have been browsing the forum for inspiration. All advice welcome :D

Second question - I'm not going to splash out on brand new top-end machinery, but I need a few bits to get started, and I've got to put some decent extraction in. Should I buy cheaper new stuff and look to replace or second hand (ebay) better brand. Obviously with cheaper new stuff, I'll suffer from the inaccuracies, but with second hand there could be things damaged or not working.

I've got a good quality circular saw and an passable mitre saw. I was thinking of an Axminster or Record Power bandsaw (benchtop) new and either a similar brand lathe or look for a second hand one - something to learn on. I've always wanted a router but that could wait. For a pillar drill, unless I find a local secondhand one I was going with a <£100 no name. Table saw might have to wait - I can buy timber cut down for now, and keep an eye out for a decent second hand.