Newbie seeking advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

masopa

Reaction score
Ok, I'm new to this and pretty much completely inexperienced so go easy (ish). I'm not even sure I've posted this in the right area...

I have some limited ability at general handywork and have a few cheap and poor quality handheld power tools (circular saw, jigsaw, reciprocating saw) - you know, the kind of things that novices buy cheaply when we don't know better, in order to do a job which could be done with hand tools if we were a bit more capable (or patient). The one upgrade I've made to the circular saw, which I use more than anything of the rest is to swap the blade for a marginally better 40t combi blade from Saxton (only a tenner but seems a lot smoother than the ripping blade for everything, including ripping!) I have cordless powerdrills and the like too.

Over the last however many years, I've built a series of "bookcase" shelves in my study which are functional, butt-ugly but straight, solid enough and highlight where I need to improve my skills (design and execution). Basically, I know which end of the saw to hold and can use it in a fairly utilitarian fashion.