First time flocker

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Honest John

Established Member
Reaction score
I've just finished a jewellery box for my daughter and decided at a late stage in the process that it would be nice with a flocked interior. I've never done any flocking before but I've watched a few youtubes and I've seen some of the flocked boxes that the bandsaw box officionadoes on this site have completed with great distinction. I've sent for the kit and hopefully it should be here before weekend. My main issue is that I have finished this Oak box with a couple of coats of poly x Osmo oil on the outside, but also on some of the inside before I thought about flocking. I thought "flock it" I've put Osmo oil on the inside! Does anyone know if the flocking glue will stick ok on top of the Parts that have got Osmo oil on them? I understand that you only get one opportunity to get it right with this flocking business, but removing the oil is also not without its problems. This oil finish is totally dry but I think Osmo can take some days to fully cure. Advice from somebody that has used the flocking product sold by turners retreat would be useful to me. Thanks in advance.

I've used flocking over poly varnish with no problems yet (only time will tell). If you sand the surface with something like 80 grit just to cut through the osmo it should be fine.

Because I cant get the official glue out here (it cant be flown due to being an explosive mixture, and whatever you do dont let it near a naked flame because the fumes are lethal) I use hammerite paint instead.
I once used the real glue when i was in the UK, and to be honest, that attempt was less successful than my hammerite.
As long as you use the same colour glue (or paint) as the flocking you will be fine.