newbie here saying hello

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

darloray

Established Member
Reaction score
hi, im getting a scroll saw very soon as ive seen what can be done.
as we make kitchens and other furniture where I work I can get bits of wood to work with for free which is a bonus.

cant pay a lot but I know not to buy too cheap. ive seen these at machine mart

Clarke CSS400C 16” Variable Speed Scroll Saw which comes with a 64 piece grinding kit.
Clarke CSS16V 16" Scroll Saw
Clarke CSS400B 16" Scroll Saw

whats your view of these, the first one is the dearer of the 3.

also,how do you create your patterns from text images. im wanting to scroll some text in some picture frames I want to create.
a friend of mine is the uks number 1 Jessie j tribute and was wanting to make one for her as she has nice scroll text in her logo.any advice on this would be great.

thanks in advance, I hope when im more experienced I can help others

Attachments

• jessielive1.jpg
    jessielive1.jpg
    181.6 KB · Views: 1,437
Hello and welcome to the best site for wood workers!!
For making patterns you can use free software like inkscape or Gimp. Even Microsoft word is very good for word art. If your budget stretches to it I would recommend buying a Hegner scroll saw.
Regards
Brendan

nadnerb":1x8irkw9 said:
Hello and welcome to the best site for wood workers!!
For making patterns you can use free software like inkscape or Gimp. Even Microsoft word is very good for word art. If your budget stretches to it I would recommend buying a Hegner scroll saw.
Regards
Brendan

hi thanks for the reply, I sent you an email back