Clamp choices

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Guys, thank you for all the input. I've had a really good look around, spending the best part of the day today trying to decide based on all the advice offered here.

On balance, I decided that the price premium was worth it for Bessey. I found a decent price so I've ordered 4x k body 100's and 2 x k body 60's to start with. Combined with a KBX connector, this gives me 5 clamps for my table top glue up.

Whilst I'm a beginner and will never get the same use out of them that a professional would, I also think that the ease of use and having confidence in my tools is important. Glue ups are pretty harrowing at the best of times. I'd rather know that I'm not having to contend with potentially sub-standard engineering.

I've spent only £50 above what the equivalent Irwin/Record sash clamps would have cost. I reckon it's worth it for piece of mind?

Frankly, spending these sums on clamps at all, even a couple of hundred quid, makes me nervous.....

PS. Thanks JMac, I had a feeling that might be the case but you confirming it was the final nail in the coffin for that choice. That and the fact I'm not sure how you'd back off the pressure slightly if needed.

I wondered if they were made up of parts that didn't make the grade for better brand clamps, given the mention of rough castings for their clamp head and the last line of the Rutlands' description which says "Manufactured at the same factory as the most well know brand of sash clamps." Of course, given other Rutlands' practices that statement could be a complete lie (or they consider a very obscure brand unheard of in these shores to be most well known).

Has anyone actually bought any of these? Bargain or waste of money?

Terry.

Wizard9999":3thqug9s said: